I used to ask myself, what is wrong with capitalism and a consumer driven market?

I got the answer when I saw the news the other day about shoppers trampling a WalMart employee to death while rushing into the store on Black friday. What was worse than the fact that they didnt stop is the disgust that was shown when the store decided to shut down as somebody had died. Surely something must be wrong with a nation so driven by consumers that they forget to value human life!

I was talking to a friend of mine (Caroline Mckenna) about this and we spent about 20 minutes on discussing the non chalance of the american people as regards such issues.. In as much as the American economy is in shambles, surely the people need a lesson in the value of life and society.

See  –

A telling portrait of greed- Shoppers Trample man to death

NYT on Walmart Employee trampled to death