I got my semester results yesterday and I must say i ‘expected’ some of those grades. In fact, I understood what it means to go against the system. Actually it was this Teacher in Alternate Dispute Resolution (ADR) that ‘literally screwed’ my grades. It was a 6 credit course and the highest there is. Well, like I said earlier; for alleging her to the biased and unfair in her marking and complaining to the authorities about it, I got what I expected.

Well, that is one of the downsides for going againt the system. Universities must be seen as institutions that encourage liberal thinking and not enforce the moral ideals and notion of a particular individual. Perhaps, I was fed up with being treated as a primary school student and didnt want to be bound by rules anymore. Rules, where asking a legitimate question would mean doubting the authority of the teacher and something as silly as an attendance is being cut for not answering a question.

The root of the problem is not the infamy of certain teachers but the very way university education works in India. A former principal of my school RIMC, Mr. Hugh Catchpole characterised it as a ‘Guru- Chela’ relationship; where in the student is to do strictly as the teacher says. Students must do their homework, get all their books to class and know everything that is going on. I remember my days in Kendriya Vidyalaya where I had to take heavy bags with all the books possible . That may work in primary and secondary schools but surely not in Universities where every one is above the age of 18 and is to be considered mature enough to make the right decisions. In Universities, students must not be forced to learn but interested to learn; its informed choice that works in this case.

I would like to put forth another instance of the ‘guru -chela’ notion. Two students Canada came over to my jurisprudence class and started addressing the prof. by her first name, while at the same time we address her as “ma’am”. I could notice a distinct openess between her and those Canadians as she was aware of the system out there and appreciated it from them; and she was not open to us following suit, the true reason for which Im not aware of but Im certain our education system has a part to play in it.

Perhaps, this is one of the reasons that I felt a ‘burn out’ in this place. And it is in these times that I feel my going for the exchange programme to Canada comes as a blessing. I’m done with nepotism and sycophancy and have had enough of it. 😛

