When Anil Kumble took his 600th wicket, though I don’t think most people noticed it on TV, Adam Gilchrist took out his pads and gloves and congratulated Kumble. I consider a true gentleman’s gesture, an act that is quite laudable with the recent controversies in mind.

The incident also reminded me of my riding days at school (RIMC, Dehradun). The time was during the IPSC National Equestrian Championships, sometime in 2003. After a full round of tent- pegging, while I was show-jumping, my fault was miscalculated and I was declared third. However, as a Captain I got the error corrected and had to forego the place to some guy from Punjab Public School, Nabha. My Commandant, Col. Mamgain and Gen Shergill lauded me for the incident.

No self- appraisal being done here. Just plain nostalgia. I loved my school, the time I had there and my coursemates, seniors and juniors. Sob! Sob!

🙂